Events

23

Nov

2021

[CUHK Centre for Bioethics Webinar Series] Seminar on Genomics - Ethical and Governance Considerations for Reproductive Genetic Screening

Date: 23 November 2021 (Tuesday)
Time: 10:00 a.m. - 11:45 a.m. (Hong Kong Time) / 1:00 p.m - 2:45 p.m. (Sydney/Melbourne Time) / 3:00 p.m. - 4:45 p.m. (New Zealand Time)
Venue: The seminar will be conducted via Zoom. The meeting ID will be sent to registrants by email.


Speakers: 

1. Prof. Ainsley Newson, Professor of Bioethics, Sydney Health Ethics, Sydney School of Public Health, The University of Sydney

(Topic: “Ethical Issues in Large-Scale Reproductive Genetic Carrier Screening Programs: A View from Australia”)

2. Dr. Calvin Wai Loon Ho, Co-Director, Centre for Medical Ethics and Law; Associate Professor, Faculty of Law, The University of Hong Kong

(Topic: “Responsible Implementation of Expanded Prenatal Genetic Testing in Hong Kong and Singapore: Whose Job Is It?”)

 

Discussants:

1. Prof. Catherine Mills, Director, Monash Bioethics Centre, Monash University

2. Ms. Josephine Johnston, Director of Research; Research Scholar, The Hastings Center 

 

Registration: Please click here (Deadline: 22 November 2021 at 10:00 a.m., Hong Kong Time)

Abstracts & Biographies of Speakers/Discussants: Please click here

Event Recap:

Presentation slides by Prof. Ainsley Newson - "Ethical Issues in Large-Scale Reproductive Genetic Carrier Screening Programs: A View from Australia"

Presentation slides by Dr. Calvin Wai Loon Ho - "Responsible Implementation of Expanded Prenatal Genetic Testing in Hong Kong and Singapore: Whose Job Is It?"

To re-visit the Seminar, please click here