Professor Francis Ka Leung CHAN

Dean of CUHK Medicine
Prof Francis Chan

Dean, Faculty of Medicine, CUHK

Choh-Ming Li Professor of Medicine and Therapeutics

Professor Chan is currently Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, Choh-Ming Li Professor of Medicine and Therapeutics and Directors of Centre for Gut Microbiota Research and Lui Che Woo Institute of Innovative Medicine at The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK). He graduated as top student with honors from the Faculty of Medicine, CUHK and completed his postgraduate training as a Croucher Foundation research fellow in Canada. Professor Chan joined the Faculty of Medicine of CUHK in 1997. He received the Faculty’s Teacher of the Year Award for five consecutive years from 1999 to 2004 and the Vice-Chancellor’s Exemplary Teaching Award twice.

As an internationally renowned clinician-scientist in peptic ulcer bleeding, helicobacter pylori, endoscopic therapy, and colorectal cancer, Professor Chan has published over 840 full scientific articles in high impact international journals and his h-index (based on the distribution of citations received) is 120. He is the only researcher in academic history to have published 8 first-author original research articles in the two most prestigious medical journals, namely the New England Journal of Medicine and The Lancet. His contributions to medical research have been recognized worldwide with many national and international awards, including the David Y. Graham Lecturer and the 2007 State Scientific and Technological Progress Award. In recognition of his outstanding academic achievements, he received the degree of Doctor of Science from CUHK in December 2011.

Besides serving the medical and academic profession, he also actively participates in community service. During the SARS outbreak, Professor Chan organized a large-scale screening test to detect silent carriers of SARS infection for over 12,000 Hong Kong citizens. In recognition of his contributions to the society, he received the honour of the Justice of Peace from the Hong Kong SAR Government in 2010.